Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Help with Tracer Dye Profile in Laminar Pipe Flow

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL. I am currently in a Finite Element class and we have an educational license for Abaqus, but as the lone environmental engineer in the class it doesn't provide me with much useful information. I got access to the two week trial for my final project and am starting to run out of time.

Basically, I want to model the velocity profile in a laminar flow condition in cylindrical conduit as well as a tracer dye experiment using the same model. I have been able to model and extract all relevant output information successfully for the simple laminar flow portion. I have my model built, 2d axisymmetric, laminar inlet and outlet, simplified density and viscosity, Re=100.

My problem is I want to replicate a tracer dye experiment in my transport text. I want to inject a very thin slug of dye across the cross section of the pipe at t=0 and subject the dye to diffusion and convection and see if the concentration profile results validate with the analytical equations in the text.

It doesn't seem possible to define a small cross sectional region inside the pipe and assign it an initial concentration of species c, start the analysis and let Fick's Law take over and see what happens at time steps along the way.

The experiment caught my eye in that class because the dye moves slower than the column of water through the conduit. I think this would be a very neat phenomenon to demonstrate to the class during my presentation.

5 Replies Last Post Dec 4, 2012, 2:32 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 28, 2012, 2:59 a.m. EST
Hi,