Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Toque loads and rigid connector in 4.0

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
Im relatively new with comsol, im a bit more used to ANSYS....and Im having trouble with adding bending and tosional moments to my modem in COMSOL.

I read an example that apperars in the 3.5 documentation about torsional moments on a cylinder..but i dont fully understand what the function: Taz_smsld*y-Tay_smsld*z they use stands for. what are the "Taz_smsld" and "Tay_smsld" respectively????

also i was looking into the option of adding a rigid connecto in order to add torques through there..but it doesn't let me, any idea of why this is?

Finally i would also like some enlightment in regard to distributing loads...seeing that this can be a way of adding the bending moments i want.

Thanks
Monika

2 Replies Last Post May 24, 2011, 1:56 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 2, 2011, 4:26 p.m. EDT
Hi

Indeed if you are beginning, it is confusing to read the 3.5 doc and use v4, and particularly 4.0 as this was really the first "early" release of the new Comsol environment. Even the few tousand of pages of doc was not finished. So my first recommendation is to upgrasde asap to 4.1 and add latest patch, pls be aware hat v4.2 is to come soon, I hope within 1-2 months, but as I'm not with COMSOL I have no inside info, so I'm not sure. Anyhow if you have an active maintenance you will receive the info.