Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

error with thermal expansion

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,

I'm new in Comsol. I try to calculate, with structural mechanics module, total displacement and "z" displacement in a easy geometry when a thermal expansion is only applied (this is constrain condition,10 ºC) with free tetrahedral mesh and stationary study.

It's a rectangular bar 80x4x55e-3 mm, the beginning and the end are fixed and the material is copper.

When I obtain the result, the bar is only deformated in the "y"direction and I don't obtain a good deformation shape in "z" direction and I don`t know why.

I've checked with a load without thermal expansion the deformation is well calculated.

Thank you for helping me.

Ana.

6 Replies Last Post May 12, 2011, 4:01 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 10, 2011, 1:27 p.m. EDT
Hi,

if I assume that your (x,y,z) direction are defined with respect to the (80x4x0.055)[mm] bar size then I notice that you have a shape ratio of 1:>8000 which I consider as big.

You must certainly take some car with the meshing to get reasonable mesh quality (have you checked the quality ?)

I would try a mapped mesh of the 4x0.055 with a 1:100 scale ratio (check the advanced tab) with some 200-400 x 4-8 elements on the section and then take some 100 to 200 elements with a sweep mesh along the 80 mm length

Then solve the system and analyse the results, start with the minimum, then increase the number of elements to check that the results do not change by more than 5-10%

--
Good luck
Ivar