Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

3D SAW DELAY LINE

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I has trying to simulate SAW (Surface Acoustic Wave) Delay line Device following one COMSOL conference paper (I also attach a part of that here). To make it simple, I removed the middle part between the delay line (gold square nanopillars). However, there are some things, I need help:

1/ For the voltage supply, How can I generate the impulse voltage and sinusoidal voltage as in that paper?
2/ In the paper, they measured the Insertion Loss, I do not know how to get this value.

Thanks for any help.

5 Replies Last Post May 12, 2011, 1:51 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago May 5, 2011, 10:59 a.m. EDT
No one can help me ?
No one can help me ?

Posted: 1 decade ago May 5, 2011, 2:56 p.m. EDT
Hi,

I'm no expert, but if I were tackling this, I'd start as follows:

1. For the impulse response, you should define the port to be a "circuit port" ....I've never really played around with that feature much (but still some), but I know you can either user-define voltages (literally write a text file that comsol uses for voltage vs. time information on that port) and just define that voltage in the piecewise fashion they did in the conference paper.

Also, I know at least in 3.5a there's an option to define a spice circuit that drives the voltage at that port, and I'm really rust at spice, but some googling on "spice impulse input voltage" or "spice piecewise voltage excitation" or something like that should give you the process for defining the voltage using spice, then connect that circuit model to be the source port in your model.

2. Insertion loss is essetially what you lose in trying to go from feed line to actual device.

The basic principle would be (Power incident on input port of device) - (Power coupled to device)