Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

"Failed to compute elastoplastic strain variables" Help Please

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am an absolute beginner at COMSOL Multiphysics and I am trying to model the effect of the movement of soil on a steel pipeline buried in it. I have attached the model file with this post. I am trying to use the Soil Plasticity Criterion but as the tutorial describes, It needs to be given Initial values. So following the built in tutorial, I have included two studies, one for calculating the initial stresses and the other one for calculating the actual stresses on the pipeline.

I would be really grateful if someone could take a look and point out the mistake in my method.

Thanks in advance.

- Rohit

12 Replies Last Post May 27, 2014, 6:48 a.m. EDT
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 4, 2013, 7:14 a.m. EST
Hi,

Knowledgebase entry 1150 discusses this error message.

www.comsol.com/support/knowledgebase/1150/

Regards,
Henrik
Hi, Knowledgebase entry 1150 discusses this error message. http://www.comsol.com/support/knowledgebase/1150/ Regards, Henrik

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 4, 2013, 9:34 a.m. EST
Thanks for the prompt Reply.

I had come across it before posting the question. I tried the solution suggested but I am still stuck at the same issue.
Thanks for the prompt Reply. I had come across it before posting the question. I tried the solution suggested but I am still stuck at the same issue.

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 14, 2013, 6:21 a.m. EDT
I had similar problems for the reasons indicated in the knowledgebase, but could overcome because of nature of my problem. I do not have geomechanics module to dissect.