Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Thermal expansion problem

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I was trying to build a simple model for the thermal expansion problem, the geometry I used was a 20mmX40mmX0.6mm rectangle, the physics used were solid mechanics and heat transfer in solid (multiphysics-thermal expansion 1). I studied the static state with initial temperature 461K. I've tried to change literally all parameters of the material (CTE, density, thermal conductivity, etc.), even changed the material from nylon to aluminum, but the results remailed the same. The total displacement always seemed rediculously large, 10^4-10^5mm on different axises, no matter how I changed the parameters. I wonder what is going wrong. Thanks.

WJ

4 Replies Last Post Jan 13, 2021, 3:25 p.m. EST

Posted: 3 years ago Jan 5, 2021, 9:48 p.m. EST

Hi Wen Jiang,

It's better you attach your model file here in order for me to suggest apropreate answer to your question.

Regards, Rahul Shah.

Hi Wen Jiang, It's better you attach your model file here in order for me to suggest apropreate answer to your question. Regards, Rahul Shah.

Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 3 years ago Jan 6, 2021, 8:35 a.m. EST
Updated: 3 years ago Jan 6, 2021, 9:14 a.m. EST

Wen,

You say that the displacements are ridiculously large and don't change with the parameters. Are you saying that based on the way the displacements are rendered on screen, or based on the values on the colorbar? By default, deformations are displayed scaled in such a way that they are easily visible with the naked eye. Their actual magnitude can be read off the colorbar. You can also change the scaling factor manually to 1 if you do not want any scaling, but then you won't be able to really see them.

Best regards,

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller